Psalm 53:1-6

Only fools say in their hearts, “There is no God.”
They are corrupt, and their actions are evil; not one of them does good!

How can the Bible make such a claim that those who say, “There is no God,” intrinsically do what is evil? Surely one can look to atheists who have done good things. So, what is the Bible’s point?

Psalm 53 goes on to elaborate what is wise and good from God’s perspective.

2 God looks down from heaven on the entire human race;
he looks to see if anyone is truly wise, if anyone seeks God.
3 But no, all have turned away; all have become corrupt.
No one does good, not a single one!

In turning away from the source of goodness we become corrupt. The focus of our gaze determines the state of our souls. As I focus on God, I am filled with His light, and my life is transformed by His goodness. As I focus on what is not God, however benign it may seem, I am influenced towards corruption.

I could be surrounded by what is evil, but so focused in my heart on God and His purposes that His glory overwhelms my heart. Likewise, I could be in the most godly environment, but so fixated on myself and what I want that I turn from God and become corrupted.

4 Will those who do evil never learn?  They eat up my people like bread and wouldn’t think of praying to God.

How is corruption seen in those who reject God but do good? The Lord’s accusation does not focus on what their intentions are, nor in the process through which they achieve their aims. They may well be commendable ends achieved through integrity. What the Lord points to is the human cost through which it is achieved. Whenever a challenge is set before us, there is a cost to its fulfilment. When I drive myself to achieve, my family will suffer. They are owed a debt of love, and I withhold that love in order to achieve my aims. If I drive my ‘team’, then I use them to achieve my ends. I am eating God’s people like bread to satisfy my aims. We are not our own, we were created by God for His purposes. When I consume people, including myself, then I am robbing God of what is His.

When we have a task that we are unable to fulfil then instead of consuming people we should present the impossible back to Him, looking for Him to provide the resources to achieve His ends.  Then instead of consuming people, God builds them up. An example of this is Jesus’ feeding of the 5000. There was an impossible task, but the Lord provided to make it possible. What is more the disciples through whom it was done were deeply encouraged in the process.

It may be that there is still a human cost, and yet somehow, God covers the cost. We can be so concerned that a person pay any cost, that we avoid roads with costs for others. We create no-go zones where we keep God out of our lives, and the lives of those we seek to protect. When we set our values ahead of God, we are walking into trouble.

5 Terror will grip them, terror like they have never known before.
God will scatter the bones of your enemies. You will put them to shame, for God has rejected them.

When tested, that which is truly good will stand. That which is not will be exposed. We try to justify ourselves for what we do outside of God, by our own force of will; we point to what is achieved. The Bible says that the ultimate end will be terror. We will see that we have paid a huge price, or made others pay a huge price, and then discover that the cost was unwarranted. Either the outcome is defeated, or the outcome is achieved another way, so the cost was not warranted.

6 Who will come from Mount Zion to rescue Israel? When God restores his people, Jacob will shout with joy, and Israel will rejoice.

What of those who are victims of the people driving for their good intentions and consuming them in the process? The Lord will come from His Holy Hill to rescue His people. The outcome will be one of joy, not mere relief. Joy is experienced when the Lord brings about His good fruit. Those who are victims, if they trust the Lord and use this testing as an opportunity to seek God, then through patience and perseverance they bear good fruit. God will work in them and there will be joy at what he achieves.