Psalm 132

This Psalm is a tale of two oaths that somehow run in parallel. They show a heartfelt and enduring commitment between David and the Lord. This is the essence of the covenant relationship that threads its way through the Bible.

1 Lord, remember David and all his self-denial.

2 He swore an oath to the Lord, he made a vow to the Mighty One of Jacob:

3 ‘I will not enter my house or go to my bed,

4 I will allow no sleep to my eyes or slumber to my eyelids,

5 till I find a place for the Lord, a dwelling for the Mighty One of Jacob.’

The first oath we encounter here is David’s oath to the Lord. He will not rest till he has found a dwelling for the Mighty One of Jacob.

There are two factors that are key to this oath. It was an expression of the heart, an outburst of emotion, probably not that well thought through. It was then carried out with passion for the rest of David’s life.

I get the impression that David made this oath, and then called the prophet Nathan to tell him of his intention. Nathan at first agrees, but then the Lord explains to him that David cannot build His temple since he has blood on his hands. It will have to be built by his son – Solomon.

Most people on hearing news like this would then say, Oops! I made a mistake and revoke their vow. David lived out his vow till his dying day. Much of his life was dedicated to the preparation work for the temple. Even at the end of his life he dedicated vast quantities of gold and silver to the construction of the temple.

We live in a generation of emotional declarations with little substance. The last generation was one of enduring commitment but calculated, this one of affirmations of the heart that are soon forgotten in favour of the next opportunity. David’s example was both commitment and heart.

6 We heard it in Ephrathah, we came upon it in the fields of Jaar:

7 ‘Let us go to his dwelling-place, let us worship at his footstool, saying,

8 “Arise, Lord, and come to your resting place, you and the ark of your might.

9 May your priests be clothed with your righteousness; may your faithful people sing for joy.”’

The community of God’s people take up the lead shown by David their king. They are motivated to go to the Lord’s dwelling in order to worship. They go to the place of his footstool in order to worship at his feet. There are no lofty claims to sit at Jesus’ right hand but an acknowledgement that He is God and we are privileged to be able to come to the least place in humility.

The community prays that the broader community would be committed to the Lord. They pray that the priests would not just wear the priestly clothing, but that they would live out what it symbolises – righteousness. They pray that the people would not only sing, but would be a faithful people overflowing with joy in songs of praise.

10 For the sake of your servant David, do not reject your anointed one.

Here we have the hinge or linking verse.

There is a recognition of the terrible reality that after all this expression of the heart and enduring commitment there has also been serious sin. One only has to think of the case of Bathsheba. So, there is a cry to God not to reject His people – though such rejection is warranted.

However heart felt the proclamation of praise, however dogged the commitment, we are sinners and we fail. At some point we take our eye off the ball, we lose sight of the Lord, our saviour, the source of grace and we fail. May it only be a stumbling and not a fall. I have had personal experience of this kind of fall/stumbling.  I had made a commitment to the Lord, but certain relational constraints made it extremely challenging. After many years I finally concluded that I could not keep it up. When I gave up, I gave up all sorts of things and became complacent in my relationship with the Lord. My problem was that I had been trying to fulfil this commitment through determination rather than learning to depend on the grace of God. I was not walking with the Lord in addressing the obstacles to this journey. Eventually the obstacles became overwhelming. Only after my stark failure was highlighted was I able to begin the process of walking with the Lord in a renewed commitment, and it would be another ten years before I sensed the Lord restoring me to the place I had previously held. We need to learn that even keeping in step with a covenant relationship with God we need His grace to do our part.

In the second half of the Psalm we see a parallel passage that reflects what the Lord has been doing from His perspective in heaven. There is no linkage here to say that this is a result of the first half or that the first is because of the second. They are in parallel. One can only guess any cause or result.

11 The Lord swore an oath to David, a sure oath he will not revoke:

‘One of your own descendants I will place on your throne.

12 If your sons keep my covenant and the statutes I teach them,

then their sons shall sit on your throne for ever and ever.’

The key word here is ‘Oath’. Just as David swore an oath in v2, here the Lord swears an oath. Just as David kept up with his oath to his dying day, so the Lord declares that this is a sure oath that He will not revoke. Just as David’s oath was with all of his heart, so the Lord swears with all of His being – and as we see that oath fulfilled in Jesus who reigns for ever and ever, He really did give it all His heart and soul.

13 For the Lord has chosen Zion, he has desired it for his dwelling, saying,

14 ‘This is my resting place for ever and ever; here I will sit enthroned, for I have desired it.

15 I will bless her with abundant provisions; her poor I will satisfy with food.

16 I will clothe her priests with salvation, and her faithful people shall ever sing for joy.

In one line of the parallel we see David choosing Jerusalem as his capital and wanting the Lord’s presence with Him, and so brings the Ark to his city. In the second line of the parallel we see the Lord choosing Zion, the place he desired for his dwelling. Somehow the two work together apparently independently and yet together. The Lord does not say Jerusalem because you desired it, but Zion for I have desired it.

In the New Testament we see a parallel thought in Matthew 18 –

18 ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.

19 ‘Again, truly I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything they ask for, it will be done for them by my Father in heaven. 20 For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.’

Just as the wider community is caught up with David’s desire to worship and build a resting place for the Lord, so the Lord extends His blessing to all who are in Zion. He will bless with provisions that will satisfy those who look to Him for their need. The community ask that the priests be clothed with righteousness, from His perspective he clothes with salvation – the flip side of righteousness. He affirms that His faithful people will sing for joy. Yet not only shall they sing for joy, but they will ever sing for joy.

17 ‘Here I will make a horn grow for David and set up a lamp for my anointed one.

18 I will clothe his enemies with shame, but his head shall be adorned with a radiant crown.’

Finally, the people had asked that David not be rejected. The Lord goes way beyond this request by affirming a radiant crown; a symbol of strength and authority illuminated by the lamp of the Spirit.